18 August 2011

Greg Cahill to receive IBMA Distinguished Achievement Award

Greg Cahill, past president of the International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) and former chairman of the IBMA board of directors, is to receive a Distinguished Achievement Award from the IBMA. Greg, whose ancestors came from Ireland, has brought his band Special Consensus to Europe many times in the thirty-six years of its existence and regularly to Ireland since 1995, and the above fine photo of him was taken by Janet Holmes of Belfast at the Athy Bluegrass Festival in 2008.

The IBMA announced today the nominations for this year's International Bluegrass Music Awards. The winners will be announced at the IBMA Awards Show on Thursday 29 Sept. 2011. The names of the 2011 inductees into the IBMA Hall of Fame - Del McCoury and George Shuffler - and of the five recipients of Distinguished Achievement Awards were also announced. In addition to Greg, the awards went to Bill Knowlton, Geoff Stelling, Roland White, and our good friend Lilly Pavlak, EBMA member and one of the truly central figures of the bluegrass scene in Europe.

The BIB sends congratulations to Greg on this great news. His award will be presented at the special awards luncheon on 29 Sept. The IBMA's press releases, including the full citations for Greg and the other award recipients, can be read here.

Update 25 Aug.: Greg has asked the BIB to send his regards to all his friends in Ireland.

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home