21 May 2012

EWOB 2012 awards

The Louvat Bros on stage at EWOB with their award (photo from the EWOB website)

The European Bluegrass Blog announces the following winners of awards at the 15th European World of Bluegrass (EWOB) Festival, held on 17-19 May 2012 in Voorthuizen, the Netherlands. The results show the continuing strength of the Czech bluegrass scene; Irish audiences will note the appearance of Sunny Side, well known here, in both main categories.

European Bluegrass Band 2012:
#1 Goodwill (CZ)
#2 East-West (CZ)
#3 (ties) Jaywalkers (GB), Rawhide (B), and Sunny Side (CZ)

 Audience Popularity Award 2012:
#1 G-Runs 'n Roses (CZ)
#2 Sunny Side (CZ)
#3 The Old Time Hayride (D/NL)

A new award was instituted this year - the Liz Meyer European Innovation of Bluegrass Music Award. This award, which rewards innovation in European bluegrass music, is given in memory of Liz Meyer (1952-2011), a driving spirit behind the EWOB Festival, who always encouraged promising and creative musicians throughout her career. The first presentation of the new award was to the Louvat Bros of Belgium.

Labels: , , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home